Act Your Shoesize, Not Your Age

I’m pleased to report that I remain an utter embarassment to my son. I feel this cements the fact I’m doing an excellent job as a parent. Today he told me, with all the wisdom he has garnered from his 29 years on this planet that I need to ‘grow up’ and ‘start acting my age’. He didn’t seem all that impressed when my response was that I’d never been 64 before now and had no idea how I was supposed to act.

Apparently, I’m too old to be watching ‘silly’ superhero and science-fiction movies – we were watching X-Men when he dropped in for an unexpected, unannounced visit.
Please I was watching Star Trek and Doctor Who the first time around, and reading Marvel and DC comics in the 1960s. I was a geek before it was ‘cool’ and the current revival is only making my love grow. You’ll be prying my Captain America action figure from my cold dead hands. Actually, scratch that, he’ll be coming in the coffin with me.

I’m also too old to be reading a kids book about space.
I’d just finished reading The Planets – a DK Publishing book about, well, the planets. Absolutely fascinating book, and it’s made me want to know more about NASA’s Solar & Heliospheric Observatory

I’m also too old to be blogging or playing Candy Crush Saga – because God forbid I find new ways to spend my day, find new hobbies to entertain myself with.

I do though have suitably ‘old person’ interests and should only fill my time with crosswords, chess, gardening, fishing and listening to classical music.

I probably shouldn’t tell him I’m thinking of going back to school….

(Please don’t take any of this the wrong way. I have a really good relationship wiht my son and he’s very much like I was at that age. I’m mostly just amused that he believes people’s personalities and interests are dictated by how old they are!)

5 thoughts on “Act Your Shoesize, Not Your Age

  1. In opposite to you, I like Superman more. I spend good amount of time with my daughter watching cartoons and reading kids’ books. Sometimes, we need a rest of our real life! I’ve never been 40 before 😉

    Like

  2. Wow Jack, you do not sound like 60ish at all. And we need some sort of “wisdom” from a man your age here on the blogosphere more than ever. I believe it’s good that you are, at least, still able and fortunate enough to find the time and energy to do all these things you love, however “childish” they may seem. Well I guess your title says it all. 🌻

    Like

    1. Thank you – although that does bring us nicely back around to ‘how is a person in their 60’s supposed to sound?

      I definitely wouldn’t recommend anyone look to me for ‘wisdom’ that’s for sure!

      Like

Leave a Reply

